crowzee2

TMG on Eee PC in Linux

I was wondering if anyone has ever been able to get TMG to run in the version of Xandros Linux on the Eee PC? I have installed Edubuntu on my current laptop and was not able to get it running using Wine but I am very new to Linux and had issues with the fonts.

I like the clean look, battery saving features and quick start-up times that the Linux Eee PC has to offer and TMG is the only Window's program that I absolutely have to have when I am on the road. Other than TMG I can use OpenOffice for my notes and things and I use the internet for my e-mail. I will have to get the XP one if I cannot get this figured out before I order my computer next month.

Note to the people at WhollyGenes: Linux is becoming ever more popular. Working on making your program work in Linux would be wonderful!

Crowzee,

TMG is strictly a Windows program. A number of people have TMG working on various Unix/Linux (and Mac) platforms using Windows emulators, such as Parallels. Every time us users suggest a different OS version the emulator method is always mentioned. From comments I have heard previously, the code is written using an MS development infrastructure and would require a complete rewrite to even consider another OS.

I was wondering if anyone has ever been able to get TMG to run in the version of Xandros Linux on the Eee PC? I have installed Edubuntu on my current laptop and was not able to get it running using Wine but I am very new to Linux and had issues with the fonts.

I like the clean look, battery saving features and quick start-up times that the Linux Eee PC has to offer and TMG is the only Window's program that I absolutely have to have when I am on the road. Other than TMG I can use OpenOffice for my notes and things and I use the internet for my e-mail. I will have to get the XP one if I cannot get this figured out before I order my computer next month.