loribragg

Weeding my Tree

I have been doing genealogy for many years and along the way, as technology and knowledge got better, got into better habits than when I started. Certainly, TMG makes it easy to source and keep up with the records. However, some of my early efforts are still in my database - including (dare I admit it) data I merged from other distant cousins. Some of the people in there aren't even related! So I am trying to come up with an system for 'weeding' my file of those lines that really are completely superfluous and also any data the is either duplicate or unsourced and I should therefore go back and research.

I have started with the Audit Report (reminded of in the recent newsletter). Many of these people fall into the 'weed' category though and it might be easier just to whack them than try to fix them. So my question is:

Does anyone out there have experience with this and will you share your system for weeding your tree? People-weeds are the primary concern but also the other files: sources, places and any other weed types you find.

Thanks in advance, Lori Bragg

Lori,

People weeding from an audit report is easy.

1) run audit report.

2) creat custom Flag "Whack" with N,Y,?

3) use audit report to view each person and decide is they are to be kept or whacked

4) Set WHACKED Flag accordingly

5) when finished just created new project excluding all people who's whacked flag is set to Y.

Hope this helps

Andy hatchett

Lori,

Mainly, I don't worry about them. I don't see that they cause any harm, and occasionally it's useful to know that someone you "discover" is already known and not related.

But if you want to clean it up I think Andy's solution is a good one. When you do that sources, places, etc. that are not linked to the people you keep are not moved to the new Project.

Hi Lori

I had a similar situation - apparently irrelevant data from years back. I'm very glad I didn't weed, though, for at least two reasons.