Jump to content


Photo

Reinstalling TMG v8

error message

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 08:36 AM

I am trying to reinstall TMG v8 after I encountered a problem. I would click on the icon on my desktop and nothing would happen. This started this morning after successfully running the program after upgrading from v7 last March. So I uninstalled it and deleted the program files as suggested. Now when I attempt to reinstall v8 I get the following application error-

"The instruction at 0x77323fbb referenced memory at 0x004d0020. The memory could not be read."



#2 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:08 AM

What operating system are you using?

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#3 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:11 AM

Windows 7



#4 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:22 AM

Did you run any kind of registry cleaner or disk maintenance software last night?  Are other programs opening without error?

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#5 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:25 AM

I had not run the program for several weeks, but inbetween I did run a registry cleaner. All other programs run that I have tried.



#6 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:50 AM

When you uninstalled the v8 remnants, were you able to locate and delete all the files listed in Jim's pinned message at the top of the forum on uninstalling v8?

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#7 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:55 AM

Not sure about the "hidden folders". 



#8 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:03 AM

I found the hidden folder in the virtual store folder & deleted it.



#9 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:14 AM

I checked to make sure all files had deleted. Attempted to reinstall and got the same error message!



#10 Robert Jacobs

Robert Jacobs
  • Senior Members
  • 308 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA, U.S.A.
  • Interests:Computers, hiking, formal shooting competition

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:29 AM

Dear Chappy,

 

It is  possible -- not likely, fortunately -- that your machine is suffering a hardware memory error. If the install program is complaining of the same memory location every time, that makes the possibility a little greater. There is a memory diagnostic built in to Windows 7 which you can invoke. It is non-destructive, so there is no danger in trying it for a few hours or perhaps overnight.

 

Instructions for the diagnostic are found at http://windows.micro...n-your-computer.

 

All good wishes -- HTH.

 

 

Robert

 

P.S. In my experience, about half of memory problems can be remedied by removing the DIMMs from the sockets and then reseating them.



#11 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:29 AM

I again checked to see all files were deleted, then restarted my computer, checked for files again, then tried again to reinstall. The install seemed to be going fine when I got a massage that said "The application encountered a problem it could not handle and stopped.



#12 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:50 AM

I restarted and ran the memory diagnostic with no problems detected.



#13 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:58 AM

Still getting the same error message.

Thanks to all who have tried to help so far!

Chappy



#14 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:00 AM

Chappy -

 

If you are using a custom install, try the typical install.   If you are running an anti-virus program try an install without it.

 

Are you using the original install file or did you download the latest (trial) version from the WG site?

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#15 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:05 AM

I am using the latest 8.4 and the typical install.



#16 Chappy

Chappy
  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:40 AM

I reinstalled again, it seemed to install fine with no error messages. Now I am back where I was in the first place. I click to open the program. The little circle appears for about 1/2 second then nothing. Like the minute it opens it crashes?

Chappy

stuck in limbo without TMG!







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: error message

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users