Dave Shingleton Jr

Memo text not showing up in reports or tag previews

I am new to TMG v9 having imported from UFT and I have noticed yet another problem after running reports and inputting data. Memo text for several Marriage and Death tags that I inputted is clearly in the memo box but does not appear in the preview within the tag nor is it carried over to the reports. This is info that I have added in the new TMG program not imported. Imported info appears to have a symbol that is grey in color like this: II prior to the memo text and I have found that typing after when inputting new memo text will includes all new text. New memo text that I have added does not have those symbols prior to the text. and will not show up. Does that make sense?

If this has something to do with altering a tag sentence which seems to be the case with this program please explain how to do it with what the sentence should look like and would this be the same for all tags?

Edited by Dave Shingleton Jr

Hi Dave,

For preview, I suspect that you have done a Copy/Paste, perhaps from a word processing document, and the text contains unprintable characters which are preventing the text from showing. When you want to Paste such copied text, use the right-click memo in TMG and choose "Paste Unformatted Text". That will strip the unprintable characters.

As for reports, be sure that your sentence template for that tag type includes the Memo variable to output the memo text. Most default sentence templates do not include that variable.