Fenichel

TMG claims my file is too new

I had been using TMG under Windows 7/64 for several years. The last installation file I have is for version 9.01, but I see that the numbers mentioned by other people went up to 9.05. I may have live-upgraded to 9.05, but I don't recall this.

My old machine died, and I have been loading software & data to a new machine. I have reinstalled TMG from its 9.01 installation file, but when I try to load one of my TMG databases (created with 9.01 or, as noted above, possibly with a slightly newer version), TMG rejects it, saying "The selected project was created by a newer product or version and cannot be opened with this versaion of The Master Genealogist."

Is it possible that a backwards incompatibility was introduced with one of the second-decimal-place version changes? That doesn't sound likely, but if it was, then I need to find a copy of 9.05, if only to salvage my data for a currently-maintained DB. If not, my files must be corrupted. Is there a salvage utility?

Any advice will be appreciated.

Yes, there were file format changes in the free upgrades to TMG 9, so your 9.1 installation will not open a project created with the later versions.

The latest updates can be found at http://whollygenes.swmirror.com/tmg9setup.exe for the US edition. It is a full installer - you don't need to have a previous version installed to use it. Apply the serial number you already have for TMG 9.