Jump to content


Photo

expired version


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 MarneyM

MarneyM
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 October 2015 - 11:43 AM

In August 2014 I bought Gold version 9 of TMG and have been consistently using it.  However, today I get a message that the trial version has expired.  What do I do now?  HELP!



#2 Terry Reigel

Terry Reigel
  • Moderators
  • 4,643 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boone, NC

Posted 21 October 2015 - 12:51 PM

Marney,

 

Would I be far off to assume that you have recently upgraded to Windows 10?

 

In any case, the instructions at http://tmg.reigelrid...sion.htm#unlock should fix the issue.


Terry

See my Tutorials and Articles on using TMG at tmg.reigelridge.com

The Second Edition of my book, A Primer for The Master Genealogist, is still available
. For more information see my website.

#3 MarneyM

MarneyM
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 October 2015 - 03:27 PM

Thanks very much for your help.  I am now back in business.  Yes, in August I bought a new computer and upgraded to Windows 10.

 

Much appreciated.



#4 Peter Tarkkonen

Peter Tarkkonen

    Petteri Tarkkonen

  • Senior Members
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 21 August 2016 - 11:33 PM

Hi,

I started to get Unlock message today as well.

I installed W10 about a month (might even be exactly 1 month) ago.

Did run as Administrator and unlocked TMG ok, but still when opening TMG get same question.

 

Any advice?

 

Peter



#5 Peter Tarkkonen

Peter Tarkkonen

    Petteri Tarkkonen

  • Senior Members
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 21 August 2016 - 11:43 PM

However,

 

If I change shortcut settings the way that TMG is always run as Administrator, Trial-promt does not show up.

 

Instead at the start get a warming about possible change TMG might do for the PC.



#6 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 22 August 2016 - 06:19 AM

You should never need to run TMG as administrator.

 

Make sure that you have unlocked both running normally (as Standard user) and running as administrator (as described on Terry's site linked above).



#7 Peter Tarkkonen

Peter Tarkkonen

    Petteri Tarkkonen

  • Senior Members
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 22 August 2016 - 06:32 AM

Hi Jim,

 

If I do not run as administrator, I get prompted to unlock TMG again.

If I run as administrator, I get prompted about "Do I allow this software to make changes...."



#8 Peter Tarkkonen

Peter Tarkkonen

    Petteri Tarkkonen

  • Senior Members
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 22 August 2016 - 09:09 PM

Hi again,

After unlocking as Administrator, I had to unlock again as a user.

Now everything seems to work ok.

 

 

When 1st time prompted to unlock (after using TMG successfully before) I did unlock as Administrator but that was not enough.

I had to unlock as user again.



#9 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 23 August 2016 - 06:29 AM

That's exactly what I said you needed to do in reply #6 above.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users