Sign in to follow this  
vjsmith

Trouble opening project with restored data

I've been using TMG for about 15 years. In October I had over 11,000 person entries in my project.
After a hardware repair on my computer in October, all of my data on my hard drive was wiped out. I had been backing up my data using MozyHome. I retrieved my TMG data from MozyHome but the .pjc file was missing.
Fortunately, I have a 4-year-old hard drive with a functioning copy of my files on it (missing the latest 3000 person entries, though).
I installed TMG 9.05 on a spare computer, and used this old data to get a working copy of my project. I then took a copy of the .pjc file that was created, moved it to my "fixed" computer and adjusted it to point to all of the correct file locations with the restored data.
Now, however, when I try to open my project using this edited .pjc file and my restored files, I get an error: "An error happened when opening the data tables".
This is what I found in _OpenPRJ:
09-12-15, 16:08:13 >Open project c:\Users\Valerie\Documents\Documents\The Master Genealogist v7\Projects\VALERIE SMITH__.PJC
09-12-15, 16:08:13 >Found c:\Users\Valerie\Documents\Documents\The Master Genealogist v7\Projects\VALERIE SMITH__.UPD... deleting all indexes
09-12-15, 16:08:14 >ERR. File c:\Users\Valerie\Documents\Documents\The Master Genealogist v7\Projects\VALERIE SMITH_ND.dbf not open
This ND file exists in my directory with the rest of my data files.
In my next post I will try to attach the .pjc and ND files so you can look at them.
Would it be possible for you to give some direction to fix this so I can continue my genealogy research? I would be very, very grateful!

You did manipulations that you should not have done. In addition, the _ND file might be damaged.

I can create a dummy .PJC file for you. ho...

Download and unzip the archive on your desktop. Then drag the .PJC file into your project's folder replacing the PJC file that you added.