Jump to content


Photo

Layout configuration on second computer


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 18 April 2016 - 03:03 AM

TMG 9.05

Wondering how to handle this:

My primary computer has a second, larger 27" display that I use for TMG, and have a custom layout for.

I am adding TMG to my laptop that just has a 15" display. I assume, that when I restore my backup on the laptop, the custom layout will also be restored.

Are there any options to avoid this OTHER than making a backup without the custom layout?

Thanks.

#2 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 18 April 2016 - 04:26 AM

The layout on the desktop and the layout on the notebook can be named differently.

 

I never backup anything but project files, accents and filters... IOW, project backups.

 

The few customization files that need to be preserved have been copied to a storage folder on each machine and are backed up by the system backups.



#3 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 18 April 2016 - 11:42 AM

thanks jim



#4 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 19 April 2016 - 06:26 AM

I just did my first backup and restore between old (master) computer and new (travel) computer per Jim's suggestion above.  However, since my file/path setup is different on each computer, I had to change the project. backup, report. and exhibit locations when doing the restore to the destination computer.  Is there anyway to maintain the 'default' paths for each computer?  Or will the project that did the backup be the new defaults and therefore have to be changed for every restore?



#5 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 19 April 2016 - 09:25 AM

The only real solution is to have the same data path on all machines.

 

I've done this for years by relocating the Windows Documents folder to a common path on all machines.

C:\User_data\Documents (when I only have one drive on all machines)

or

D:\User_data\Documents (earlier when I had two drives on all machines)

 

You could also set up a TMG data folder using a common path on all machines and set the data paths in TMG Preferences / Current Projects Options for each project. For example...

C:\TMG_Projects\some_project (with a folder for each project)

 

You would also want to set the default projects path in Preferences to the same path under...

Preferences / General / Default Project Path

C:\TMG_Projects

 

And you could also change the default location of the user data file folder to a common location for all machines. That's a more advanced concept and there's an entire help topic dealing with changing the default location. 



#6 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 20 April 2016 - 07:53 AM

Running into a problem. 

 

System:  Computer 1: iMac with Parallels 11 and windows 7

               Computer 2: MacBook Pro with parallels 11 and Windows 7.

               TMG v9.04

 

Can run, backup and restore from MacBook Pro to iMac with no issues using original paths to my external drive.  Can restore to MacBook pro from iMac with NO external drives, but I have to massage project paths on both.

 

Takin Jim's advice above, I duplicated the project path on my Macbook Pro to my iMac.  (\\mac\home\documents\The Master Genealogist v9\....(appropriate subdirectories for backup, exhibits, etc.).

My main project path is: \\mac\home\documents\The Master Genealogist v9\projects\Gleason Ancestry\

 

Problem:  when I restore on my iMac, I get a message stating that my project path is invalid.

 

What am I messing?



#7 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 20 April 2016 - 08:24 AM

Could be that Windows thinks that you are making an invalid user path.

 

You want a unique path outside of any user paths (and I assume on the Windows C: drive). If Glenn sees this, he might comment.

 

I know nothing about Parallels so really don't know what to say.

 

Why are you running TMG v9.04 instead of v9.05?



#8 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 20 April 2016 - 08:42 AM

Sorry, I am running 9.05.  I mis-typed..  I was looking at my path from within windows and noticed that under 'my documents' is folders for 'The Master Genealogist v8' and all associated sub-folders.  Am I recalling correctly that there was a reason not to use 'my documents' with TMG?  Or is my memory playing tricks.



#9 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 20 April 2016 - 08:46 AM

Just to be clear, it is not necessary for all of the other folders (exhibits, reports, timelines, backups. etc.) to be grouped with the project folder.  I can keep the other folders where they are and just move the project folder, correct?



#10 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 20 April 2016 - 09:37 AM

Update.  Think I've got it.  changed project path to c:\TMG Projects\Gleason Ancestry.....it seems to work.  Definitely works from Macbook to iMac.  Taking a break before I try the reverse.

 

Thanks for your help Jim.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users