Jump to content


Photo

Access problem / "Repair mode" / "Errror"

access repair mode error

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 kurrild

kurrild
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 June 2017 - 02:41 AM

A few days ago I was entering data.  Suddenly the program shut down, without any error message.

Subsequently I have been unable to open/access the file.

 

When I try to open the program, I get the message
"Repair mode: Repair mode has been activated.  The application will now operate somewhat more slowly as it validates each file that is opened.  Repair mode will be off again the next time that you run the application."

When I try to open the project-file, I get the message:
"An error happened when opening the data tables ..."--after which the program shuts down.

(Yes, I do have a back up, but unfortunately--stupidly!--it is about a year and three months old, and I have entered tons of material since.)

Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Peter K-K



#2 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 19 June 2017 - 05:14 AM

Can you open the Sample project with no error?



#3 kurrild

kurrild
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 June 2017 - 10:50 AM

Yes.  I can also open the old back-up.  So it seems to be the project-file and not the program itself that has problems.



#4 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 19 June 2017 - 11:18 AM

That's what I was looking for.

 

If you send me the project, I'll check it and see if it can be recovered. You need to make a ZIP file of the folder with the project. Delete the .CDX files before making the ZIP. That will reduce the size of the ZIP file considerably.

 

You can contact me by email by clicking on the link below...

Jim Byram



#5 kurrild

kurrild
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 June 2017 - 10:37 PM

That's what I was looking for.

 

If you send me the project, I'll check it and see if it can be recovered. You need to make a ZIP file of the folder with the project. Delete the .CDX files before making the ZIP. That will reduce the size of the ZIP file considerably.

 

You can contact me by email by clicking on the link below...

Jim Byram

 Thanks.  That is very kind of you and much appreciated. 

Since I put a lot of work in the data, and given that some of the information in it is private, will you promise me not to store it privately or upload the data to any public databases?  Thanks.



#6 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 20 June 2017 - 07:06 AM

I have no interest in your data and am just trying to help you and get your project working again. Over the years, I have repaired dozens of projects for TMG users.



#7 kurrild

kurrild
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 June 2017 - 10:11 AM

I have no interest in your data and am just trying to help you and get your project working again. Over the years, I have repaired dozens of projects for TMG users.

Thank you very much.  Very kind.  I will email you a little later.

Best wishes,

Peter K-K



#8 tkstone

tkstone
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 June 2017 - 10:29 AM

I have installed TMG Gold 9.05 and registered it. When I open it and try to open the Sample, I get an error message "when opening Data Tables." Also, when I open and operate TMG, it elects to operate in "Repair Mode." Any suggestions? Thank you!



#9 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 21 June 2017 - 12:52 PM

Peter's project had the headers damaged in 10 of the data tables. Once those were repaired and the project was cleaned up, it worked just fine.



#10 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 21 June 2017 - 12:55 PM

I have installed TMG Gold 9.05 and registered it. When I open it and try to open the Sample, I get an error message "when opening Data Tables." Also, when I open and operate TMG, it elects to operate in "Repair Mode." Any suggestions? Thank you!

 

This suggests that an external application is interfering with TMG, Is any syncing program accessing the TMG projects folder?

 

Are you running MacAffee anti-virus? You should temporarily suspend real-time virus checking by your anti-virus client and check TMG again.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: access, repair mode, error

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users