Marlene Williamson

Integrity of Place Names

Is there a way to ensure that a place name in a new tag conforms to the ones already entered in the Master Place List? It would be very helpful to be able to access the Master Place List from the tag entry screen and choose a location, with the fields then being filled in on the Tag screen, rather than to have to attend to any discrepancies afterwards by going into the Master Place List and fixing it up.

I am new to TMG so am working out what I can and cannot do before I permanently change over....

Marlene

Marlene,

There are two tools that can help. The first is the Repeat function. To use it, click in the field and press F3 to recall the most recently entered value for that field. Press again to recall the previous one, up to 15 values. Or, use Ctrl-F3 to display a list of the last 15 values used in that field, and chose the one you want.

This function works in virtually all data entry fields, not just in places. Special rule for using it in Citations: When you use the Repeat function in either the Source number or Citation Detail field, both are recalled.

A second tool is the Search function, which uses the F2 key. It too works in virtually all data entry fields. Click in the field, press F2, and type the first few letters of the entry you want. When you see it appear double-click on it.

Special rule for Search in places: You click on the lowest-ranked field you want to recall, and you will be offered all the combinations with higher-ranked fields that have been previously entered. Choosing an entry populates all the levels. Note that it does no change any lower ranked fields, so if you enter a new street address, say, you can click in the City field and recall the City, County, and State combinations previously used.

Welcome, Marlene,