tim655321

All-in-one / everyone chart

Hi all,

I am new to genealogy, and recently started on TMG v 7 Gold. I am a big fan of the box charts. I want to created a box chart of everyone in the database. Is there a way to do this? I've read other posts here at the forum, and noticed that this topic has not been revisited for awhile.

I have looked at other programs and add-ons which allow you to create "all-in-one" or "everyone" charts. I have found some that come close, but nothing that will literally place EVERYONE in the database on a single chart.

What is the best way to go about this?

Thank you.

Tim,

This is a request made from time to time, and some programs have a chart that is supposed to do that. While this is possible with a small database, in general it just doesn't work. The sheer size of a chart with several thousand people can make it unfeasible. But long before reaching that point many users find multiple intermarriages that cause contorted linages that just don't work on two-dimensional paper.

TMG's Visual Chartform does allow you to link together multiple charts. So it is possible to create two or more separate charts, and copy and paste them all together into a single chart if the constellation of people you what to include make that feasible. To do that you enlarge the "canvas" for one of the charts, then copy the contents of the other chart(s) to that one, removing duplicate people and connecting the lines as needed.

I tried using Family Tree Maker 2010, and imported my TMG file. The all-in-one chart in Family Tree Maker 2010 does almost everything I want. The chart includes everyone, but it only connects a line from one parent to the child; I want a line from both parents to connect to each child.

What are my options to make this happen? Can anyone recommend some other applications/add-ons to try?

Thank you.

xAncVLB_4.jpgxDescWhipple935_.jpg