Chris Heal

Unnatural act for TMG

Hello: My first post: I have been using TMG for perhaps 10 years, but not as an expert.

I'm doing some research into apprenticeships in the feltmaker trade in Bristol, England. These records start in 1535 and continue for about 400 years. Simply, a master takes an apprentice, perhaps, several apprentices. Some of these apprentices eventually go into trade and have apprentices themselves. Gradually, a tree of apprenticeship relationships develops.

The theory under test is whether apprenticeship trees lead to other business relationships which stay within a limited number of ' apprenticeship families'. These trees would be, in fact, the business networks, the trade's lifeblood. When partnerships are made, for instance, are they more likely to be constructed between tradesmen of the same tree even if they are only distant 'cousins'?

I decided to test whether I could use TMG to build apprenticeship trees with the master entered as the 'father' and his apprentices as 'sons', continuing the process as the 'sons' became 'fathers' to new apprentices. This is the 'unnatural act'. No other normal genealoical information is required except the year of apprenticeship. It is the basic relationship that is important, not the circumtances.