Ted_Weeks

Weird sentence structure using 'witness' and 'associated'

I'm a Newbie to TMG; but, I did check the FAQ and did do a search of the forum for 'witness' & 'associated' and found no resolution to my problem of a principal witnessing himself or being associated with himself.

I imported my 1,700+ individuals directly from Family Tree Maker into TMG 9 (not via GEDCOM because of hundreds of image files). I have not made any data changes within TMG (yet) until I have explored it and am comfortable with it.

The first discomfort came when I ran a narrative descendancy report on an ancestor. Strange and unacceptable sentence structures appeared from my imported FTM data, e.g.:

"John Doe ... He witnessed the beginning of military service of John Doe in [place]."

[ He was in the military.]

"James Doe ... He was a witness when James Doe was moved to [place] in [date]."

[ He moved to etc.]

"Fred Roe ... He was associated with Fred Roe Commissioned officer, United States Navy on [date] in [place] ... He was associated with Fred Roe Retired USN on [date] [place] ... He was a witness when Fred Roe was Built retirement home (where/when)."

[ He was a Commissioned officer etc.]

[ He retired USN etc.]

[ He built retirement home etc.]

"Jane Roe was associated with Jane Roe a teacher for 25 years in [place]. She was Jane Roe's housemate in [place] ... She was a witness to the fact that Jane Roe was living in [date] in [place]."

[ She was a teacher for 25 years etc.]

[ She resided in [place]. ]

[ She was living in [year] at [place]. ]

"Mary Roe witnessed the SSN of Mary Roe. She witnessed the Namesake of Mary Roe."

[ Her SSN was nnn-nn-nnnn.]

[ Her grandmother, Mary Young, was her namesake.]

Is there a global correction that I can make to sentence structures to correct this?

I'm 78 and I'm afraid I'll have to dump TMG if I have to waste my remaining time correcting each and every existing record rather than using my time profitably on genealogical research.