tmalek

Master Style List for U. K.

I have been using TMG - USA for many years. Recently I have started researching my wife's family and found ancestors and cousins in England and Ireland. Therefor I want to set up a UK Style on the Master List and rename some (or all) of the 10 name labels. However, I am not familiar with the place names and have come across references to Borough, District, City, County, Civil Parish, Ecclesiastical Parish, Registration District, and others. Not wanting to reinvent the wheel, I hope someone can tell me what place name labels are used by TMG-UK users.

Thanks. Tom

First, a warning... The list reports in TMG use the US default style labels for the place levels.

The UK default style labels can be on a different style level for a comparable place entity.

This means that list reports will be broken when using the US and UK styles in the same data set. For example, the list reports use the city entity on level 3. The UK style uses the city entity on level 4. So searching for a city, you won't get the city for any place using a UK style.

The levels for the default UK style are: Addressee, Detail, Village/Area, Town/City, County/Region, Country, Postal, Phone, Coordinates, Temple.

Bottom line... If most of the places in your data set use the US place style, it's best to adopt a consistent scheme to use the UK place entities with the US place style. You could make a new style for UK places to have appropriate level labels while keeping the place entities at the same levels as the US place style. This means having two UK entities at the same level separated by a comma. Example level 3 would be "Village/Area, Town/City". There is a limit for how long a place level label can be and display properly in the label field on a tag entry screen.

Thanks Jim - will follow your advice about using City in level 3.
I'm trying to understand UK references to what "appear" to be places so would appreciate more assistance.