MMj

Question about Validate File Integrity

I have a general question about the validate file integrity routine. I've been using TMG for about 3 months now and have a relatively small database at this point with about 2,500 people in a single dataset in a single project. I originally started using TMG with v6.09. During the 3 months that I have been using TMG I have run the validate file integrity routine fairly regularly just to make sure I didn't have any "issues", and up until today the routine has run through without finding anything to fix.

This morning I upgraded the software to v6.10. The upgrade performed flawlessly. I noticed the note stating that changes had been made to the validate file integrity routine to correct additional problem areas, so I ran validate file integrity shortly after performing the upgrade. This time, instead of a clean run, I got a message telling me that something like 2,900 potential problems had been corrected. I ran the validate file integrity routine again immediately and got a clean run the second time.

I was caught a little off guard by the large number that had been reported. So my question is this. What sorts of things is the validate file integrity routine now looking for that would cause my small-scale project to report nearly 3,000 potential problems? Were there problem areas in my original data that I didn't even know about? And when the routine says that it has "corrected" possible problems, what exactly does that mean? Have any alterations been made to the data?

I am just grasping here to try to understand what goes on when I run the validate file integrity routine.

Thanks

Mike

Edited by MMj