Prognatus

String is too long to fit - RESOLVED

Hello, :)

I'm fairly new to TMG. Although I've owned a user licence for every version since v4, it's just recently that I've taken a more serious look at it and started to transfer all my data from another genealogy program.

Yesterday I got an error at startup. Here's link to a screendump:

tmgstarterror24yd.th.jpg

Maybe this has something to do with that I'm using a norwegian string set?

Anyway, I pressed Cancel on that dialog, the program exited and I restarted it again. This time there was no error message.

Is any data corrupted after this, do you think?

...and how do I know for sure?

Edited by Prognatus

Hi,

you say the error directly occurs on startup, right?

May be it indicates that the path name where TMG is installed on your computer is too long?

May be I'm wrong but I seem to remember when using WIN XP as operating system it's limited up to 128 characters.

Can you please check or let us now the exact path name?

And after the error occurred you were able to run TMG without incident? Is that right? Or have I misinterpreted your post?

If you're able to run TMG without any error message then you should also be able to open your project within TMG and check whether it's OK.

If you don't want to this immediately then please try to open TMG's Sample Project first and see what happens.

Please keep us informed how things are going on.

you say the error directly occurs on startup, right?

Hello, Vera!

Yes, that's right. But only once.

May be it indicates that the path name where TMG is installed on your computer is too long?

May be I'm wrong but I seem to remember when using WIN XP as operating system it's limited up to 128 characters.

Can you please check or let us now the exact path name?

My install path is "C:\Program Files\TMG" in Windows XP.
And after the error occurred you were able to run TMG without incident? Is that right?