Jump to content


Photo

What is going on with the Update to 9.03


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 dsc8w

dsc8w
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 20 July 2014 - 02:23 AM

Hi folks, I have been a TMG user for many years and up till now have been more than happy with the overall programme and its various upgrades and updates.

However I recently in the last few days checked out to see if the were any 'Updates' and was advised to go from 9.01 to 9.03 and duly went thru the sequences.

I am now totally flumaxed  and the programme is far from working ok, I am getting loads of error messages and have no idea what is causing it or even more how to put things right.

I have even reinstalled my 9.01 install disk but things are error strewn. Would someone PLEASE sort this problem out and let us users get on with doing what we normally do.

Regards

David



#2 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 20 July 2014 - 05:56 AM

David -

 

Uninstall TMG 9 from the Control Panel.   Download and install the trial version (v9.03) from the WG website here: 

 

http://www.whollygen...nal-installers/

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#3 dsc8w

dsc8w
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 20 July 2014 - 09:42 AM

Hi Virginia. I notice that when going to the main WG website and looking for the Trial version, no mention is made that it is version 9.03, can this be assumed, and will my lock-in code work with this file.

Regards

David



#4 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 20 July 2014 - 10:06 AM

David -

 

Yes, that can be assumed.  The trial version is always the latest version.   Your unlock code will work fine - and it may have been remembered so you may not have to reenter it.

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#5 Michael Hannah

Michael Hannah
  • Moderators
  • 2,733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Ranchos, New Mexico, USA
  • Interests:Genealogy, Computers

Posted 20 July 2014 - 11:51 AM

Hi David,

 

While not specified on the Download page, you can always tell what version you will get by going to the "Upgrade Center" page, which is the "Upgrade" menu option on the drop-down menu for "Support" on the main page.  As Virginia says, the download will always be the latest version, and the Upgrade Center will tell you what version that is.


Michael
See my book on how I customize TMG My Way.
My website.

#6 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 20 July 2014 - 12:53 PM

David -

 

If you need the UK trial version, it is here:

 

http://www.whollygen...vc?Screen=TMGUK

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#7 gypsy

gypsy
  • NewMembers
  • 0 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 10:26 AM

HELP!   i received the email to update to 9.03.  i went to tmg - clicked on check for updates and started the process.   lots of screens popped up and i thought i went through each one properly.

 

i cannot open tmg.  it says MSVCR71.dll is missing.   it said to reinstall the program.  when i go to reinstall the program - it says i have the current update.

 

thank goodness i backed up my program last night.  program was working fine last night.

 

what am i doing wrong?  i am running 8.1 and cannot find msvcr1.dll in the recycle bin - so i did not delete it.



#8 donnads

donnads
  • NewMembers
  • 0 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 12:51 PM

I reinstalled 9.03 from the website as suggested. It doesn't work either. I have a months worth of research to enter and I am really getting disgusted!

 



#9 wingfield

wingfield
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 August 2014 - 05:54 PM

folks,

 

there are not enough specifics in the thread messages to assess the specific issues.  that said, I also had problems in the 9.03 upgrade.  here's how I solved them.  download the trial version from the website (yes, this is a full version).  then go to the directory it got downloaded to.  then right click, and choose "run as administrator".  after the install, you may have to put in your serial number, so have it handy.  after this,  all worked fine for me.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users