Jump to content


Photo

9.03 loses "Prompt for Backup" setting


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 jonsaunders

jonsaunders
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha NE

Posted 04 August 2014 - 09:40 PM

The "Prompt for Backup" setting, when checked, disappears every day, and I have to reset it.  Running on Widows 7, 64 bit with current maintenance.  Otherwise, everything is running smoothly.



#2 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 05 August 2014 - 03:55 AM

Try re-saving your layout and see if that keeps the setting.  Go to the top menu View / Layouts / Layout Manager.  Then click on Overwrite to modify your existing layout.

 

The shortcut for the layout overwrite is Alt v a m  Alt o.

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#3 jonsaunders

jonsaunders
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha NE

Posted 09 August 2014 - 10:01 PM

Virginia, I've tried your suggestion several times, and the "Prompt for Backup" setting still doesn't stick.



#4 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 10 August 2014 - 06:07 AM

Jon -

 

Instead of overwriting the layout, save it with a new name. 

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#5 Michael Hannah

Michael Hannah
  • Moderators
  • 2,733 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Ranchos, New Mexico, USA
  • Interests:Genealogy, Computers

Posted 10 August 2014 - 06:50 AM

If you are checking the "Prompt for backup" option in the "During exit" section of "Startup and Exit" in Prefrences, then after you check it, first click "Apply" and only then click "OK'.  See if that helps.


Michael
See my book on how I customize TMG My Way.
My website.

#6 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 10 August 2014 - 08:30 AM

'Prompt for backup' is a program setting stored in the app.ini and has absolutely nothing to do with layout files.

 

Check your app.ini using a text editor such as Notepad. The file is located in the user program data folder. You can use the Help / Access Folders feature to open this folder.

 

You should have this setting in the Advanced section of the file...

[Advanced]
PromptBackup=Yes


#7 jonsaunders

jonsaunders
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha NE

Posted 11 August 2014 - 10:46 AM

You should have this setting in the Advanced section of the file...

[Advanced]
PromptBackup=Yes
 
I checked today just after opening my file, and the option was turned off.  So either during shut down, after the backup, or during start up, the setting is getting changed to No


#8 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 11 August 2014 - 11:07 AM

I hope that you edited the app.ini to 'Yes' and then checked again to determine if it is saved when used?



#9 jonsaunders

jonsaunders
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha NE

Posted 12 August 2014 - 09:25 PM

The problem appears to be another of the "focus" problems that I have incurred before and never got resolved.  The prompt parameter stayed as Yes from yesterday, through a shutdown last night and restart this morning, and all day today.  Tonight I was working in a browser window on my 2nd screen, finished up, and reached over and clicked the X to close the TMG window on screen 1, without first giving that window focus.  It shut down without prompting for backup, and when I checked the app.ini file, the prompt option was No.



#10 jonsaunders

jonsaunders
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha NE

Posted 13 August 2014 - 12:34 PM

I have not been able to repeat the above failure.  I will have to get out my astrological map and see how the stars were aligned last night.



#11 jonsaunders

jonsaunders
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha NE

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:36 PM

The last three nights before shutdown I have looked to see if the prompt is set to Yes.  Each night it had been turned off.



#12 Helmut Leininger

Helmut Leininger
  • Senior Members
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna / Austria

Posted 18 August 2014 - 02:20 AM

Just guessing:

 

assume currently the prompt is set to Yes. You want to shtdown TMG and you get the prompt/reminder to save. On this prompt at bottom you are asked if this should be repeated the next time. Be sure this is checked (with a hook). Otherwise the prompt is reset to no.


Edited by Helmut Leininger, 18 August 2014 - 03:39 AM.

Regards
Helmut

#13 jonsaunders

jonsaunders
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha NE

Posted 22 August 2014 - 10:10 AM

Yes, I've made sure that the "repeat next time" box is checked on the prompt, but I still lose the prompt every day.



#14 Robert Jacobs

Robert Jacobs
  • Senior Members
  • 308 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA, U.S.A.
  • Interests:Computers, hiking, formal shooting competition

Posted 24 August 2014 - 05:47 AM

Do you have more than one copy of app.ini? Perhaps from the installation of an earlier version of TMG or of another copy? In other words, are you looking at the current copy of the file?

 

 

 

Robert



#15 jonsaunders

jonsaunders
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Omaha NE

Posted 27 August 2014 - 06:39 PM

Robert, I am looking at the right app.ini.  But it is even easier than that - I can just look at preferences within the app to see if it set right.  And after a full day's use, it never is.



#16 Terry Reigel

Terry Reigel
  • Moderators
  • 4,643 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boone, NC

Posted 28 August 2014 - 04:35 AM

Jon,

 

I have no clue what's causing the issue, but I would suggest a work-around if you haven't tried it already (actually, I turned off that prompt years ago in favor of this solution). Put a backup button on the custom toolbar, and you can make a backup with a single click. Not only when you exit, but any time you have put in more data than you would care to have to re-enter.


Terry

See my Tutorials and Articles on using TMG at tmg.reigelridge.com

The Second Edition of my book, A Primer for The Master Genealogist, is still available
. For more information see my website.

#17 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,178 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 28 August 2014 - 05:11 AM

Jon -

 

As Terry suggested, a backup button on your custom toolbar is convenient - and a good bit faster (see video here), which I find encourages frequent backups while I am working.

 

Virginia.  


Win7 Professional x64




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users