Jump to content


Photo

Printing to JPG


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 29 February 2016 - 08:35 AM

I would like to print a JPG descendant box chart for each one of my four lines, one of which may be large   When I try this, however, I get an error that VCF has stopped working and I need to close the program.  

 

I don't need anything fancy, just a visual image of my lines.  Any tips or hints?

 

Thanks



#2 John Cardinal

John Cardinal
  • Senior Members
  • 833 posts
  • Location:North Andover, MA

Posted 29 February 2016 - 09:47 AM

Where in the process does VCF stop working? Is the failure before you ever see the chart, or after that, such as when trying to save it?

#3 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 29 February 2016 - 09:54 AM

It fails while processing, before I see anything at all.

#4 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,177 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 29 February 2016 - 01:52 PM

Are you including images? 

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#5 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 29 February 2016 - 03:09 PM

Don't think so.  I'll check and try it again if I was.



#6 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 29 February 2016 - 03:30 PM

Virginia

I did have images included, but excluding them made no difference.  The program still aborts before processing is complete.



#7 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,177 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 29 February 2016 - 05:36 PM

Can you cut down on the amount of information in each box - limit to birth/death years and locations?

 

The threads on the forum about one-page charts may give you some ideas for creating multiple smaller charts.

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#8 Jim Byram

Jim Byram
  • Moderators
  • 7,192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Framingham, MA

Posted 29 February 2016 - 05:55 PM

Just to note... The charts will be of much higher quality if saved as .PDF files rather than as bitmap image files such as .JPG. The images saved in the .PDF documents will be vector images with no staircasing as you have with bitmap images.



#9 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 01 March 2016 - 04:12 AM

Jim - thanks for the tip.

#10 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 01 March 2016 - 04:21 AM

Virginia - your comment about one page charts leads me to believe I am being unrealistic in what I hope to do:

I want a quick and dirty descendant chart that I can show on my monitor and scroll thru. I guess the digital equivalent of a wall chart without the fancy stuff. I was thinking that saving the chart to jpg (or pdf as Jim suggested), would bypass the page size more I read into your 'one page chart' comment, I am now thinking that is not possibles? I was hoping for minimal interaction with VCF at this time to avoid cranial overload.

#11 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,177 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 01 March 2016 - 07:13 AM

Bob -

 

If your email address is still the same as in your WG forum information, I sent you a simple VCF configuration file you can experiment with.  These are simple text files - so you can read through the settings to get an idea of how to downsize a wall chart.

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#12 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 01 March 2016 - 07:15 AM

Virginia

 

It is and I got it.  Will take look.  Thanks



#13 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 01 March 2016 - 07:43 AM

Virginia 

 

I am not familiar with VCF so I must be missing a step as I do not see your chart in the list of VCF charts.  Here is what I did:

 

Copied your file to :  c:\users\'username'\my documents\the master genealogist v9\

 

From there I was lost.  Was not sure how and could not figure out how to display the VCF list of charts.  Tried via TMG and VCF.



#14 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,177 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 01 March 2016 - 07:54 AM

Bob -

 

The file has to go into the Configuration Files folder under TMG9.

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#15 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 01 March 2016 - 08:00 AM

Oops, my bad - That is where I put it, I justI left off the last folder:

 

c:\users\'username'\my documents\the master genealogist v9\Configuration files



#16 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,177 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 01 March 2016 - 08:23 AM

Once the file is in the correct folder, it should be listed under TMG / Reports / Ancestor Box Chart.   Those files are simple text files that you can open and edit in WordPad or other text editor. There may be a folder location in that file where it was saved on my computer.  When you save the file on your computer it will insert your own file path.  You can always go into the file and delete my folder path if it is a problem.

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#17 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 01 March 2016 - 08:32 AM

I'm sorry Virgnia, I just don't see it.  I looked at your file and did not see any path info. 



#18 Virginia Blakelock

Virginia Blakelock
  • Moderators
  • 3,177 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 01 March 2016 - 08:53 AM

There should not be a problem then.  Is that configuration listed with the other Ancestor Charts in VCF and can you click on it to print a report?

 

Virginia


Win7 Professional x64

#19 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 01 March 2016 - 09:29 AM

Okay, problem solved.  I checked the file locations within TMG preferences and found the my default path is slightly different than the norm (I am running TMG under Parallels, hence the diff.)  copied your file into that location and it now appears in TMG reports list as you had described.

 

I will take look at it later and see if I can make it work for me.

 

Thanks.



#20 rlgleason51

rlgleason51

    BobG

  • Senior Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Dumfries, VA

Posted 01 March 2016 - 03:53 PM

Virginia

 

I tried creating the chart, but after 15-20 minutes of processing, I get the dreaded "Visual Chart Form has stopped responding" message.  I checked the options you had set but could not really determine items that I could be causing undue precessing so I left them as selected.

 

any thoughts?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users